Home News Canadian Movie News –

Canadian Movie News –

Golden Sheaf Awards Deadline Approaches
By Staff
;ACTRA Toronto Announces AWard Nominees;
(January 10, 2014 – Yorkton, Saskatchewan) In case you didn’t know this interesting bit of Canadian film trivia, allow us to repeat it. The Yorktown Film Festival is Canada`s longest running film festival. It was established in 1947 under the guidance of the Yorkton Film Council, and the very first festival held was held in 1950. Held every couple of years at first, the festival evolved over the years, which included dropping the word International from its official name at some point, and adding the now highly coveted Golden Sheaf Awards (GSAs) in the late 1950s. The festival is now accepting submissions for the 2014 GSAs but time runs out for your submission at 11:59pm (GMT -6) on January 31, 2014.

This year’s festival includes 18 main film categories, ranging from Animation to Student Production. Documentary History and Documentary Biography have been merged this year to create Documentary History & Biography, likewise for Doc Nature/Environment and Doc Science/Medicine/Technology which becomes Doc Science/Nature/Technology. In;Golden Sheaf Award; addition to the 18 category awards, a submitted film may also qualify for one of the festival`s special awards: the Ruth Shaw Best of Saskatchewan, Emerging Filmmaker and Aboriginal awards.

While there is more information and entry form available online, here are some of the basics:

Entries fees are $95 and $40 for students.

Make sure you have included all of the required submission materials including: The correct number of DVDs (2 for all entries, plus one for every subcategory entered). Your timecode sheet and title screenshot should be emailed to the festival office. Although the deadline for submitted the form is the end of this month, all of your submission materials must reach the festival office no later than February 6, 2014. Filmmakers submitting in the final two weeks are strongly advised to use a courier service rather than regular mail.

In addition the 18 category awards, a submitted film may also qualify for one of the special awards as mentioned above. Eligibility for these awards and all categories are available on the festival website.

After the close of submissions, the adjudication process begins and nominees will be announced in two rounds during March and April. Winners of the Golden Sheaf Awards will be announced at the Yorkton Film Festival Gala on May 24.

The 2014 Yorkton Film Festival will take place May 22 to May 25, 2014. The event will include professional development workshops and panels featuring industry leaders, film screenings, the festival`s signature Lobsterfest, and the Golden Sheaf Awards gala ceremony.