Home News Canadian Movie News –

Canadian Movie News –


Viggo Mortensen to Present at 2014 Canadian Screen Awards
By staff

;Viggo Mortensen © 2012 by R.A.Lucas;
Photo of Viggo Mortensen © 2012 by R.A.Lucas. The photo of David Cronenverg below was scanned from an original in The Northernstars Collection.

(February 19, 2014 – Toronto, Ontario) The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television and their broadcast partner, CBC Television have announced the preliminary lineup of talent participating in the 2014 Canadian Screen Awards. Hosted again this year by comic superstar Martin Short, Director David Cronenberg will be honoured with the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award at the gala event, which will be presented by his friend and long-time collaborator, actor Viggo Mortensen.

Cronenberg, who will turn 71 a few days after the 2014 CSAs, directed his first, short film in 1966. He would go on to give his loyal and ever-growing fan base such classics of Canadian film as Shivers, Rabid, The Brood, Scanners and Dead Ringers. His 2002 film, Spider had its North America premiere as a Gala Presentation at the Toronto ;David Cronenberg, Northernstars Collection photo;International Film Festival. It went on to be given the festival`s Best Canadian Feature Film Award and he was named Best Director at the 2003 Genies for his work on that film.

His 2005 film A History of Violence was selected for compeitition at the Cannes Film Festival and opened to excellent reviews after playing at the Toronto International Film Festival. A long-time favorite in France, Cronenberg, who had previously been given a chevalier des arts et lettres, was elevated to the level of officier in a special presentation by Philippe Guelluy, the French ambassador to Canada.

Viggo Mortensen, perhaps best known for his role as Aragon in the three Lord of the Rings films, costarred in Cronenberg`s History of Violence in 2005 and worked with him again in Eastern Promises (2007) and then played Sigmund Freud in The Dangerous Method in 2011.

The preliminary list of presenters announced yesterday represent some of the best and brightest of Canadian film and television. Look for Amanda Brugel who costars in the recently released Sex After Kids, Arisa Cox (Big Brother Canada), Dave Foley (Spun Out), Lauren Holly (Motive), Mia Kirshner (I Think I Do), Adam Korson (Seed), Jessica Lowndes (90210), Amber Marshall (Heartland), Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black, Cas & Dylan), Shay Mitchell (Pretty Little Liars), Jon Montgomery (The Amazing Race Canada), Zoie Palmer (Lost Girl), Missy Peregrym (Rookie Blue), Jason Priestley (Call Me Fitz), Anna Silk (Lost Girl), George Stroumboulopoulos (George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight) and David Sutcliffe (Cracked).

Additional presenters will be announced in the coming weeks. The awards will be broadcast live on CBC-TV on Sunday, March 9, 2014 at 8 p.m. (8:30 NT) from the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto.