Home News TSC Announces New Voices Winners

TSC Announces New Voices Winners

;TSC Announces New Voices Winners;
(March 26, 2015 – Toronto, ON) The producers of the Toronto Screenwriting Conference (TSC) have announced the recipients of the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. The emerging writers receiving the award are Carly Stone, Dennis Allen, Keith Davidson, Tommy Gushue, and Vivian Lin. The award recipients receive a pass to the TSC and a meeting with representatives from Telefilm Canada. Over forty writers from seven provinces applied representing British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Quebec.

“Each year we are incredibly impressed with the quality of the applications for the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award and this year’s winners are an excellent representation of the emerging writing talent in this country,” said Kim Robinson, Toronto Screenwriting Conference producer.

Carolle Brabant, Executive Director of Telefilm Canada, added: “We would like to warmly congratulate the 2015 winners of the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. We’re pleased to again have this opportunity to support emerging screenwriters in their pursuit of new partnerships. This initiative underlines one of the priorities in our recently released strategic plan—to support the industry in achieving diversity and balance in order to maintain growth and sustainability. The discovery and encouragement of new talent is one of the best means of ensuring this success.”

To qualify for the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award candidates must have written at least two short films of which one has been produced, and have written one feature length screenplay, TV pilot or series treatment. They must not have previously produced a feature or TV series, or received the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. All applicants were asked to write a brief note about how the Toronto Screenwriting Conference will assist in their professional development and about a writer who has most inspired their screenwriting.

The sixth annual Toronto Screenwriting Conference takes place on April 11 & 12 at the Daniels Spectrum in the revitalized Regent Park.