Home News 2016 Jutra Nominations Announced

2016 Jutra Nominations Announced


(January 26, 2016 – Montréal, QC) The Québec film industry honoured its own with the announcement of the nominations for the 18th annual Jutra Awards. In recent years there has been some concern about the strength of Quebec’s filmmaking community but there were no signs of that wen the nominations were announced yesterday. Close observers found little surprise in the nominations but most were happy to see two of Québec’s best films tie for 10 nominations each. Both Corbo and La passion d’Augustine top the numbers list and both have nominations as best film and for best director.

Elephant Song by Charles Binamé picked up 8 nominations, Les êtres chers (The Loved Ones) from director Anne Émond had 7 and Turbo Kid and Guibord s’en va-t-en guerre landed four nominations each. Xavier Dolan, who seemed to dominate the Jutras over the past few years is back again this year but with just one nomination in the category of Best Actor for his work in the The Elephant Song.

Following is a list of the nominees in the main categories for the 2016 Jutra Awards:

Best Picture:

The passion of Augustine
The Loved Ones
Felix and Meira

The demons

Best Director:
Denis Mathieu (Corbo)
Léa Pool (Passion of Augustine)
Maxime Giroux (Felix et Meira)
Philippe Lesage (Demons)
Anne Émond (Les êtres chers)

Best actor:
Xavier Dolan (Elephant Song)
Maxim Gaudette (Les êtres chers)
Alexandre Landry (L’amour au temps de la guerre civile)
Paul Savoie (Le journal d’un vieil homme)
Gilbert Sicotte (Paul à Québec)

Best Actress:
Céline Bonnier (The passion of Augustine)
Hadas Yaron (Felix et Meira)
Laurence Leboeuf (Turbo Kid)
Anna Mouglalis (Anna)
Fanny Mallette (Chorus)

Best Supporting Actor:
Tony Nardi (Corbo)
Luzer Twersky (Felix et Meira)
Irdens Exantus (Guibord Goes to War)
Jean-Simon Leduc (L’amour au temps de la guerre civile)
Salim Kechiouche (Black)

Best Supporting Actress:
Lysander Ménard (The passion of Augustine)
Diane Lavallée (The passion of Augustine)
Catherine-Audrey Lachapelle (L’amour au temps de la guerre civile)
Schelby Jean-Baptiste (Scratch)

Christine Beaulieu (The Mirage)

Best Documentary:

The imprint
Gold Gulf Ian Jaquier
Uighur prisoners of the absurd
The price to pay
The Amina profile

Best short or medium animated film:
All the Rage
Autos Portraits
My Heart Attack
Squame by Nicolas Brault

The 18th Annual Jutras, hosted by Pénélope McQuade and Stéphane Bellavance will be broadcast on Radio-Canada on March 20th and 8PM. Click here for a full list (in French) of all the 2016 nominees.