Home News ACTRA Honours Sarah Polley

ACTRA Honours Sarah Polley

ACTRA Honours Sarah Polley, image,
Photo of Sarah Polley by Denise Cronenberg supplied by ACTRA.

ACTRA Honours Sarah Polley

by Staff

(March 4, 2020 – Toronto, ON) — Canadian performers are shining a spotlight on ACTRA member Sarah Polley by naming her their 2020 ACTRA National Woman of the Year. ACTRA began bestowing this honour in 2010 to recognize an ACTRA member who excels in both her artistic and advocacy achievements.
“Sarah Polley has made a real difference in the way performers and artists are treated and respected in this country,” said ACTRA President David Sparrow. “From her continued support and activism for everyone in our entertainment industry, to inspiring us throughout her successful career as a performer, writer, director and producer, we’re thrilled to name Sarah our 2020 ACTRA National Woman of the Year.”
“I’ve been a proud ACTRA member since I was a child,” said Sarah Polley. “It’s been inspiring to watch ACTRA evolve and grow since that time to become a strong, progressive union. I am thrilled to receive this honour from fellow ACTRA members.”
Sarah Polley’s long and distinguished career has encompassed numerous roles on screen and behind the camera. An award-winning performer, writer, director and producer, her dramatic features include Away from HerTake This Waltz, and Stories We Tell. Her adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace for Netflix and CBC, which she executive produced, garnered six Canadian Screen Awards including Best Screenplay, Director, Actress and Limited Series. The recently co-directed the popular CBC Gem series, Hey Lady!, which debuted at Sundance.

As a leading voice promoting ACTRA’s campaign to increase Canadian entertainment content, Polley has participated in ACTRA’s federal election press conferences and government lobbying efforts. Sarah has shared her personal experiences as a child star when speaking in support of children who work in the entertainment business. In 1996, she supported ACTRA’s bargaining team in achieving significant improvements for minors within ACTRA’s Independent Production Agreement, which covers film, television and digital media production across Canada (except British Columbia). In 2008, Polley was honoured with the ACTRA Toronto Award of Excellence.

ACTRA inaugurated this annual honour in 2010 with Shirley Douglas. Other recipients include: Tantoo Cardinal (2011), Sandi Ross (2012), Mary Walsh (2013), Jean Freeman (2014) Amanda Tapping (2015), Catherine Joell MacKinnon (2016), Tina Keeper (2017), Dr. Rita Shelton Deverell (2018), and Noreen Golfman (2019).

Northernstars.ca joins with others in congratulating Sarah Polley on this well-deserved honour.