Home News Air Canada Film Fest Finalists

Air Canada Film Fest Finalists


(October 15, 2015 – Toronto, ON) The Air Canada enRoute Film Festival has announced the finalists for its 9th annual festival. Award categories include Best Short Film, Achievement in Direction, Achievement in Cinematography, Achievement in Animation, and Achievement in Documentary.

All Achievement Award winners will receive an all-inclusive trip for two to the 2016 Berlin International Film Festival in Germany, courtesy of Air Canada. The winner of Best Short Film will also receive a $5,000 cash prize courtesy of presenting sponsor, Cineplex.

The 2015 Air Canada enRoute Film Festival Award Nominees are:
(A)LONE – Kevin Landry, Montreal, QC
Familiar – Haya Waseem and Christopher Lew, Toronto, ON
I’m Still Embarrassed – Taylor Gordon and Nigil Vazquez, Cobalt, ON
Kaleidoscope – Catherine Dubeau, Montreal, QC
Persistence of Vision – Caitlin Durlak, Toronto, ON

A free public screening of the nominated short films will take place in Montreal on Monday, November 2 at the Phi Centre (407 Rue Saint Pierre) from 7:30pm to 9pm and in Toronto on Wednesday, November 4 at Cineplex Cinemas Yonge Dundas & VIP (10 Dundas Street East) from 7 to 9 p.m.

An exclusive awards celebration will take place at 2nd Floor Events immediately after the Toronto screening, hosted by etalk’s Liz Trinnear.

The jury that selected the finalists was led by Tatiana Maslany and also included (alphabetical order):

Albert Shin (director)
Catherine O’Hara (actress)
François Girard (director)
John Galway (president of Bell Media’s The Harold Greenberg Fund)
Julie Roy (executive producer at the NFB’s French Animation Studio)
Ron Mann (director)
Ruba Nadda (director)
Sophie Desmarais (actress)
Yassmina Karajah (director and winner of Best Short Film at the 2014 Air Canada enRoute Film Festival)

Voting for the Air Canada enRoute Film Festival People’s Choice Award runs until Saturday October 31 on enRoutefilm.com. The winner will be announced at the Wednesday, November 4 awards celebration and will win a trip for two to a destination of their choice within North America, courtesy of Air Canada.