Home News Aisha Alfa to Host ACTRA Manitoba Gala

Aisha Alfa to Host ACTRA Manitoba Gala


(September 16, 2016 – Winnipeg, Manitoba) Nigerian-born, Winnipeg-raised Canadian actor and commedienne Aisha Alfa has been given the honour of hosting the 2016 ACTRA Manitoba Awards Gala, set to take place on Saturday, September 24 at the MET Event Centre.

In addition to Alfa, there are some special surprises in store and the event will end with a dance party hosted by DJ Co-op. There will be hors d’oeuvres throughout the evening, as well as a late-night poutine bar, which all by itself makes the price of admission a great value. Even better because the gala is free for ACTRA members and only $25 for guests. Following is a complete list of the nominees in various categories:

Most Outstanding Performance in a Short Production:
Brock Couch (Boy Toys)
Darcy Fehr (Black Rainbow)
Adam Hurtig (Seven Drinks)
Daina Leitold (Dirt on Me)
Aaron Merke (Advanced Wizards & Warriors)

Most Outstanding Performance by a Female Artist – Theatrical Release:
Melissa Marie Elias (A Warden’s Ransom)
Tamara Gorski (Steel)
Daina Leitold (The Exorcism of Molly Hartley)
Jacqueline Loewen (The Journey Home)
Nancy Sorel (Heaven Is for Real)

Most Outstanding Performance by a Male Artist – Theatrical Release:
Paul Essiembre (A Warden’s Ransom)
Darcy Fehr (Heaven Is for Real)
Darren Felbel (Hyena Road)
Ernesto Griffith (A Warden’s Ransom)
Darren Wall (Hyena Road)

Most Outstanding Performance by a Female Artist – Television:
Lauren Cochrane (The Pinkertons)
Rebecca Gibson (The Pinkertons)
Beverly Ndukwu (The Choking Game)
Jenny Pudavick (The Pinkertons)
Nancy Sorel (The Pinkertons)

Most Outstanding Performance by a Male Artist – Television:
Dave Brown (The Pinkertons)
John C. MacDonald (The Pinkertons)
Arne MacPherson (The Pinkertons)
Stephen Eric McIntyre (The Pinkertons
Ray Strachan (The Pinkertons)

Most Outstanding Stunt Performance:
Eric Blais / Tristan Carlucci (The Pinkertons)
Terry Ray (The Journey Home)
Kristen Sawatzky (A Warden’s Ransom)
Sean Skene / Bryan Verot (The Pinkertons)
Anders Strome (Joy Ride 3 Roadkill)

Tickets to this red-carpet event are open to the public but members should RSVP as soon as possible as seating is limited to 400 people. Contact: manitoba(at)actra.ca.