Home Canadian Screen Awards – 2014

Canadian Screen Awards – 2014

Canadian Screen Award
Canadian Screen Award
Welcome to our Canadian Film Award Archive. This page contains information about the 2nd annual Canadian Screen Awards, held in March of 2014, celebrating Canadian film and television projects completed in the previous year. Also see Northernstars pages detailing the Canadian Film Awards, the Genie Awards and Les Prix Jutra.

The Canadian Screen Awards – A Brief History:

The 1st Canadian Screen Awards were held on March 3, 2013. These new awards were created following a decision by the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television to merge its formerly separate Genie Awards (for film) and Gemini Awards (for television) into a single ceremony. The Canadian Screen Awards also include awards for achievements in digital media. The inaugural awards broadcast gala was hosted by Martin Short. The awards for television have been edited for space.

2014 – Awards for Film:

Best Picture:
Gabrielle – Kim McCraw and Luc Déry, producers
Best Director: Denis VilleneuveEnemy
Best Actor: Gabriel Arcand – Le Démantèlement / The Auction
Best Actress: Gabrielle Marion-Rivard – Gabrielle
Best Supporting Actor: Gordon PinsentThe Grand Seduction
Best Supporting Actress: Sarah GadonEnemy
Best Original Screenplay: Shannon Masters – Empire of Dirt
Best Adapted Screenplay: Elan Mastai – The F-Word
Best Feature Length Documentary: Watermark – Edward Burtynsky, Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier, Daniel Iron, producers
Best Short Documentary: ChiAnne Wheeler, Yves J. Ma and Tracey Friesen, producers
Best Live Action Short: Noah – Patrick Cederberg, Walter Woodman
Best Animated Short: Subconscious Password – Chris Landreth, Marcy Page, Mark Smith
Art Direction/Production Design: Michel Proulx – Louis Cyr, l’homme le plus fort du monde / Louis Cyr: The Strongest Man in the World
Cinematography: Nicolas Bolduc csc – Enemy
Costume Design: Carmen Alie – Louis Cyr, l’homme le plus fort du monde / Louis Cyr: The Strongest Man in the World
Editing: Matthew Hannam – Enemy
Overall Sound: Andrew Tay, David Drage, David Giammarco, Greg Chapman, Matt McKenzie, Peter Persaud – The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones
Sound Editing: Alex Bullick, Christian Schaaning, J.R. Fountain, Jill Purdy, Kevin Banks, Nathan Robitaille, Nelson Ferreira, Stephen Barden, Steve Baine – The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones
Achievement in Music – Original Score: Danny Bensi, Saunder Jurriaans – Enemy
Achievement in Music – Original Song: Jimmy Harry, Serena Ryder – The Right Kind of Wrong – “It’s No Mistake”
Achievement in Make-up: Jo-Ann Macneil, Karola Dirnberger, Paul Jones – The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones
Achievement in Visual Effects: Andy Robinson, Dennis Berardi, Edward J. Taylor IV, James Cooper, Jason Edwardh, Jo Hughes, Leann Harvey, Sean Mills, Stephen Wagner, Trey Harrell – The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

2014 – Awards for Television (edited for space):

Drama Series: Orphan Black – Claire Welland, David Fortier, Graeme Manson, Ivan Schneeberg, John Fawcett, Karen Walton, Kerry Appleyard, producers
Comedy Series: Call Me Fitz
Animated Program or Series: Almost Naked Animals
Documentary Program: The Defector: Escape from North Korea
Documentary Series: Engraved on a Nation
Children’s or Youth Fiction: Degrassi
Children’s or Youth non-fiction: Splatalot
Dramatic Mini-Series or TV Movie: Borealis
History or Biography Documentary Program or Series: The Real Inglorious Bastards
International Drama: The Borgias
Lifestyle Program or Series:You Gotta Eat Here!
Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series: Rick Mercer Report
Performing Arts or Arts Documentary Program: I Am Not a Rock Star
Factual Program or Series: Museum Secrets
Pre-School Program or Series: Justin Time
Reality/Competition Program or Series: Dragons’ Den
Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series: Aliens: The Definitive Guide (Handel Productions, Arrow Media)

Social/Political Documentary Program (Donald Brittain Award): The People of the Kattawapiskak River

Lead actor, drama: Hugh Dillon – Flashpoint
Lead actress, drama: Tatiana MaslanyOrphan Black
Lead actor, comedy: Jason PriestleyCall Me Fitz
Lead actress, comedy: Tracy DawsonCall Me Fitz
Lead actor, television film or miniseries: Rick RobertsJACK
Lead actress, television film or miniseries: Sook-Yin LeeJACK
Supporting actor, drama: Jordan GavarisOrphan Black
Supporting actress, drama: Maria Doyle Kennedy – Orphan Black
Supporting actor, comedy: Nicholas CampbellLess Than Kind – I’m Only Nineteen
Supporting actress, comedy: Nikki PayneSatisfaction: Internship, Relationship, Friendship

2014 – Awards for Digital Media:

Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Fiction: Space Janitors (Space Mop) Davin Lengyel, Geoff Lapaire
Best Original Interactive Production Produced for Digital Media: Ruby Skye P.I. (Jill Golick Enterprises LTD.)
Best Cross-Platform Project, Fiction: Continuum Interactive Chris Harris, James Milward, Kathryn Rawson, Jeremy Smith, Pietro Gagliano, Ryan Andal, Zach Feldberg
Best Original Program or Series, Non-Fiction: CBC Music Presents: The Beetle Roadtrip Sessions
Best Cross-Platform Project, Non-Fiction: The Amazing Race Canada Interactive Chris Skinner, CJ Hervey, James Milward, Pietro Gagliano, Ryan Andal
Best Cross-Platform Project, Children’s: The Next Step Interactive Barbara Bailie, Michael Goldsmith, James Milward, David Fortier, Ivan Schneeberg, Frank van Keeken, Ryan Andal, Pietro Gagliano, Noora Abu Eitah, Michel Pratte, Laura Harbin, Chloe van Keeken, Rachael Shaeffer

Click here for a list of the winners at the 2013 Canadian Screen Awards.