Home News CDN Screen Awards Honours Nine

CDN Screen Awards Honours Nine

Canadian Screen Awards, image,

(October 31, 2017 – Toronto, Ontario) – The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced nine Special Award recipients yesterday. They will be honoured at the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards in March of next year.

“The brilliant and unparalleled works of this year’s honourees have impacted us, not just in Canada, but around the world – each provide threads of diversity and courageousness in the fabric of Canada’s culture,” said Beth Janson, CEO, Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television. “The Academy is honoured to recognize their decades of outstanding and important contributions/”
Denis McGrath – Margaret Collier Award – awarded posthumously, for his exceptional body of written work.

Clark Johnson – Earle Grey Award – awarded for his exceptional impact on the strength of the industry at home and around the world.

Pat Ellingson – Outstanding Media Innovation Award – for her successes in ground-breaking innovation in the Canadian media industry.

Karyn Pugliese – Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism – awarded for her exceptional contributions to Canadian television journalism.

Rick Mercer Report – Academy Icon Award – for its ongoing contribution to the media industry within Canada and globally.

Bell Let’s Talk – Humanitarian Award – in recognition of the groundbreaking national campaign about mental health.

“This year’s distinguished award recipients and bodies of work exemplify the very best of Canada’s creative talent, humanitarian heart, and journalistic integrity,” said Academy Chair Martin Katz. “We look forward to recognizing their great accomplishments during Canadian Screen Week 2018.”

The 2018 Canadian SCreen Awards will be broadcast live on CBC from The Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto on Sunday, March 11 at 8 p.m. EST (9 p.m. PT/ 9:30 p.m. NT).