155 minutes – Sci-Fi
Language: English
Festival release date: September 3, 2021 (World Premiere, Venice Film Festival) Release date: October 22, 2021
Production company: Legendary Pictures
Distributor: Warner Bros. Pictures

In the far distant future, Duke Leto Atreides accepts stewardship of the dangerous desert planet Arrakis, also known as Dune, the only source of the most valuable substance in the universe, “the spice”, a drug which extends human life, provides superhuman levels of thought, and makes faster-than-light travel possible. Though Leto knows the opportunity is an intricate trap set by his enemies, he takes his Bene Gesserit concubine Lady Jessica, young son and heir Paul, and most trusted advisers to Arrakis. Leto takes control of the spice mining operation, which is made perilous by the presence of giant sandworms. A bitter betrayal leads Paul and Jessica to the Fremen, natives of Arrakis who live in the deep desert.

Directed by Denis Villeneuve with a screenplay by Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth, Dune is an international co-production of Canada, Hungary, the United Kingdom and the United States. This is the first of a planned two-part adaptation of the 1965 novel of the same name by Frank Herbert. Trailer courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures. Dune is estimated to been the highest grossing film on its opening weekend, with $40.1M-US earned following its October 22, 2021 release.

At the 2022 Academy Awards®, Dune won for Best Sound, Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects, Editing, Production Design and Best Music for composer Hans Zimmer.

Also see: Dune receives 10 Academy Award nominations.

Dune, 2021 movie, poster,



Cale Boyter
Joe Caracciolo Jr.
Mary Parent
Denis Villeneuve

Executive Producer:

Herbert W. Gains
John Harrison
Brian Herbert
Kim Herbert
Tanya Lapointe
Byron Merritt
Richard P. Rubinstein
Jon Spaihts
Thomas Tull


Denis Villeneuve


Jon Spaihts
Eric Roth
Denis Villeneuve


Greig Fraser


Joe Walker


Hans Zimmer

Production Designer:

Patrice Vermette

Art Director:

Tom Brown (Supervising art director)
Karl Probert (Senior art director)
David Doran (Art director: vehicles)
Tibor Lázár
Gergely Rieger
Samy Keilani (Second unit)

Costume Designer:

Bob Morgan
Jacqueline West

Cast: Roles:

Timothée Chalamet
Rebecca Ferguson
Oscar Isaac
Josh Brolin
Stellan Skarsgård
Dave Bautista
Stephen McKinley
Henderson Zendaya
Chen Chang
Sharon Duncan-Brewster
Charlotte Rampling
Jason Momoa
Javier Bardem
David Dastmalchian
Babs Olusanmokun
Michael Nardone
Charlie Rawes
Richard Carter
Stephen Collins
Oliver Ryan
Gloria Obianyo

Paul Atreides
Lady Jessica Atreides
Duke Leto Atreides
Gurney Halleck
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Glossu ‘Beast’ Rabban
Thufir Hawat
Dr. Wellington Yueh
Dr. Liet-Kynes
Gaius Helen Mohiam
Duncan Idaho
Piter De Vries
Jamis Gurney
First Trooper
Second Trooper
Deaf Trooper
Hawat Specialist
Female Fremen