Home News imagineNATIVE Wraps with Awards

imagineNATIVE Wraps with Awards


imagineNATIVE Wraps with Awards
by Staff
(October 22, 2018 – Toronto, ON) The 19th annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival wrapped last night with an awards presentation held at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in downtown Toronto. The juries considered film, video, audio, and digital media works from Canadian and international Indigenous artists ultimately handing out over $30,000 in cash prizes and in-kind services to the winning films.
imagineNATIVE had previously presented awards at the Industry Award Reception on Thursday, October 18 and the Bullseye Music Contest at The Beat on Saturday, October 20.

Following is the complete list of winners at the 2018 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival:

Best Dramatic Feature
Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle) by Eduard Novikov
$2000 cash award sponsored by Bellmedia
Best Indigenous Language Production
Wiñaypacha (Eternity) by Oscar Catacora
$1000 cash award sponsored by Indigenous Media Initiatives

The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work
Eatnanvuloš Lottit (Birds in the Earth) by Marja Helander
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE
Best Audio Work
Trans Mountain Pipeline, B.C. Wolf Cull and Dog Sled Massacre
by Crystal Favel
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Digital Media Work
Aeasi by Amie Batalibasi
$500 cash award sponsored by Unifor
Best Interactive Work
Biidaaban: First Dawn by Lisa Jackson
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
ANORI (Wind) by Pipaluk Kreutzmann Jorgensen
$2000 cash award sponsored by The CJ Foundation
The Ellen Monaque Award for Best Youth Work
A World of Our Own by Morningstar Derosierv
$500 cash award sponsored by RBC & Humber College Aboriginal Resource Centre

The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work
Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes) by Amanda Strong
$1000 cash award sponsored by VTape

Publicity still from Fast Horse courtesy of imagineNATIVE.
Best Documentary Work Short Format
FAST HORSE by Alexandra Lazarowich
$1000 cash award sponsored by TVO
The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work Long Format
Marks of Mana by Lisa Taouma
$2000 cash award sponsored by CBC Docs
The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Michael Greyeyes
$1500 cash award sponsored in part by ACTRA National, and generous individual donations.

Sun Jury Prize
Sgaawaay K’uuna (Edge of the Knife)
by Gwaai Edenshaw and Helen Haig-Brown
Moon Jury Prize
My Friend Michael Jones by Ian Leaupepe, Samson Rambo
APTN/imagineNATIVE Web Series Pitch
Ryan Cooper and Adeline Bird 
$30,000 in cash and $20,000 of in-kind prizing and mentorship presented by APTN and supported by Technicolor, Innovate by Day, William F White International, TIFF, WIFT-T, T.O. Webfest and new supporters Bedtracks and Bizable Media
NFB/imagineNATIVE Digital and Interactive Prize
Gail Maurice

The Rising Director Mentorship Award
Alexandra Lazarowich
Created in partnership with Laura J. Milliken of Big Soul Productions and with the support of the CMPA

The Rising Producer Mentorship Award
Darcy Waite
Created with the support of the DGC

Bullseye Music Prize
$10,000 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE and Slaight Music