Home News Archive Canadian Screen Awards – Day 2

Canadian Screen Awards – Day 2

Canadian Screen Awards 2019 - Night One

Canadian Screen Awards – Day 2
by Staff Editors

(April 6, 2022) The second round of coveted Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs) were announced last night recognizing the best in Sports and in Digital and Immersive programming.

Following is the complete list of award-winners from last night:


Best Sports Opening
EURO 2020
TSN (Bell Media)
Simon Garan, Devon Burns, Jacob Frenkel, Kevin Fallis, Adam Fair

Best Sports Feature Segment
Ahmed & Muhammed
TSN (Bell Media)
Matt Dunn, Sara Orlesky, Kevin Fallis, Sara Bonnetta, Stephan Recksiedler

Best Sports Play-by-Play Announcer
Blue Jays on Sportsnet
Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)
Dan Shulman

Best Sports Analyst
Blue Jays Central
Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)
Joe Siddall

Best Direction, Live Sports Event
2021 Stanley Cup Final Game 4
Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)
John Szpala

Best Live Sports Event
2021 Stanley Cup Final Game 4
Sportsnet (Rogers Sports & Media)
Ed Hall, Sherali Najak, Brian Spear

Best Sports Host
Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on CBC
(CBC Sports)
Andi Petrillo

Best Sports Program or Series
Nike’s Big Bet
(Big Bet Productions in association with Paul Kemp Productions)
Paul Kemp, Corey Russell


Best Supporting Performance, Web Program or Series
The Communist’s Daughter
(LoCo Motion Pictures)
George Stroumboulopoulos

Best Lead Performance, Web Program or Series
21 Black Futures
(Obsidian Theatre)
Lovell Adams-Gray

Best Host, Web Program or Series
ET Canada Live
(Entertainment Tonight Canada)
Cheryl Hickey, Roz Weston, Sangita Patel, Carlos Bustamante, Keshia Chante, Morgan Hoffman

Best Live Production, Social Media
The 24th Annual Toronto Film Critics Association Awards
(C’mon Mort Productions)
Ashleigh Rains, Bern Euler, R.T. Thorne

Best Immersive Experience – Non-Fiction
Space Explorers: The ISS Experience – Episode Two: ADVANCE
(Felix & Paul Studios in association with TIME Studios)
Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël

Best Immersive Experience – Fiction
The Passengers
(Couzin Films & Les Produits Frais with Dpt Post-Moderne Mocaplab Novelab Rümker)

Best Production, Interactive
CBC Kids News Minecraft Back-to-School Special
(CBC Kids)
Lisa Fender, Jamie McMahon, Allison Cake, Amrita Singh, Philip Street, Nina Corfu, Sabrina Fabian, Kat Go, Angelica Cooper, Taylor Katzel, India McAlister, Mia Rodak, Marie McCann

Best Video Game Narrative
The Vale: Shadow of the Crown
(Falling Squirrel Inc.)
David Evans

Best Writing, Web Program or Series
21 Black Futures – The Death News
(Obsidian Theatre)
Amanda Parris

Best Direction, Web Program or Series
21 Black Futures – The Death News
(Obsidian Theatre)
Charles Officer

Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction
Farm Crime
(Big Cedar Films)
Geoff Morrison, Christina Carvalho

Best Web Program or Series, Fiction
21 Black Futures
(Obsidian Theatre)
Mumbi Tindyebwa Otu, Lucius Dechausay, Fatuma Adar, Michael Sinclair, Myekah Payne, Grazyna Krupa

Northernstars joins with others in congratulating the winners of the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards for Sports Programming and the Digital and Immersive awards.

Screen Week 2022 continues tonight. Here’s the schedule for the rest of the week:

Wednesday, April 6:
Children’s & Animation Awards
Lifestyle & Reality Awards

Thursday, April 7:
Drama & Comedy Crafts Awards
Scripted Programs & Performance Awards

Friday, April 8:
Cinematic Arts Awards

Sunday, April 10:
2022 Canadian Screen Awards on CBC and CBC Gem

Also see: Canadian Screen Awards – Day 1