Home News DOC Institute Honours – Coming Soon

DOC Institute Honours – Coming Soon

DOC Institute Honours - Coming Soon, image,

DOC Institute Honours – Coming Soon
by Staff Editors

(November 9, 2022 -Toronto, ON) It promises to be quite a night, filled with drama and magic. The drama is waiting to learn who will win an award, the magic comes from renowned Canadian magician and community outreach activist Julie Eng will host and perform for guests at a gala evening event on December 8 hosted by The DOC Institute, an initiative of DOC Ontario, the largest chapter of the Documentary Organization of Canada.

This year marks a return to a live and in-person gathering, after two years of the event being virtual as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The DOC Institute Honours welcomes Canada’s leading documentary film industry professionals, at which two awards are presented to visionaries working in the Canadian documentary industry.

One, the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award, is presented to an individual whose leadership and creative spirit has made a significant contribution to the genre and benefitted the Canadian documentary community. The award is supported by the Rogers Group of Funds. Previous honourees are Syvia D. Hamilton. Anne Pick, Zoe Dirse, Alanis Obomsawin, Chris McDonald, Daniel Cross, Elizabeth Klinck, and Marc Glassman.

“DOC Institute has positively impacted the careers of many filmmakers and craftspeople working in the industry today”, said James Weyman, Co- Chair of the DOC Institute. “The Rogers-DOC Luminary Award helps us to recognize individuals who pursue the Institute’s mission in their own careers and have gone above and beyond in supporting and championing Canadian documentary talent.”

The second award, the Vanguard Award, is presented to an emerging or mid-career professional, whose keen artistic sensibility and visionary approach has made them a talent to watch. Previous recipients are Tamara Mariam Dawit, Chelsea McMullan, Millifiore Clarkes, Lisa Jackson, Amar Wala, Victoria Lean, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, and Brett Story.

“The Vanguard Award highlights the next generation of documentary filmmakers”, said Lalita Krishna, Co-Chair of the Doc Institute. “We want to recognize the diverse group of talented filmmakers who now have the opportunity to tell their stories.”

“It was an honour to receive the DOC Honours Vanguard Award,” said Lisa Jackson, Canadian Screen Award-winning Anishinaabe filmmaker and winner of the 2020 Vanguard Award.”I’ve been proud to be connected to DOC over the course of my career and have great respect for the steps DOC has taken towards equity as well as their advocacy for a more inclusive screen industry. Chi miigwech.”

The DOC Institute Honours are juried from nominations submitted by the Documentary Organization of Canada, an association of more than 1,000 members, representing six chapters from coast to coast to coast. Submissions for the DOC Insititue Honours Awards are now open until Monday, November 14 at 11:59 pm ET. Click here to submit a nomination.

Click here to book tickets to the December 8 gala in Toronto.

The DOC Institute Honours is an annual event supported by presenting sponsor, CBC, and award sponsors, Rogers Group of Funds and SIM International.

SOURCE: The DOC Institute