Home News Archive Prix Iris – 2019

Prix Iris – 2019

Prix Iris, image

Prix Iris – 2019
by Ralph Lucas – Publisher

(June 3, 2019 – Toronto, ON) The third annual Prix Iris was held in Montreal on Sunday June 2nd. As I had previously suggested, Ricardo Trogi’s 1991 was recognized as Best Film and Trogi took the award for Best Director. That said, my prediction that the film would dominate the awards was wrong. Directed by François Bouvier, the film La Bolduc was honoured with six awards, the most of any film and one more than 1991.

Administered by Québec Cinéma, the Prix Iris handed out their behind-the-scenes technical awards on the afternoon of the evening broadcast Gala. A total of 26 Iris awards were presented. Following are the films and people honoured at the 2019 Prix Iris:

Best Film:

Best Director:
Ricardo Trogi (1991)

Best Screenplay:
Guillaume Corbeil, Yan Giroux (À tous ceux qui ne me lisent pas)

Best Actress in a Lead Role:
Debbie Lynch-White (La Bolduc)

Best Actor in a Lead Role:
Martin Dubreuil (À tous ceux qui ne me lisent pas)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:
Sandrine Bisson (1991)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:
Robin Aubert (Une colonie)

Discovery of the Year:
Émilie Bierre (Une colonie)

Best Casting:
Ariane Castellanos (Une colonie)

Best Art Direction:
Raymond Dupuis (La Bolduc)

Best Cinematography:
Sara Mishara (La grande noirceur)

Best Sound:
Claude Beaugrand, Michel B. Bordeleau, Luc Boudrias, Gilles Corbeil (La Bolduc)

Best Editing:
Ivan Thibaudeau (1991)

Best Visual Effects:
Fix Studio – Aurélia Abate, Delphine Lasserre, Bruno Maillard | Oblique FX – Benoît Brière, Louis-Philippe Clavet, Valérie Garcia, Étienne Rodrigue (Dans la brume)

Best Original Score:
Philippe Brault (La disparition des lucioles)

Best Costumes:
Marianne Carter (La Bolduc)

Best Makeup:
Nicole LaPierre (La Bolduc)

Best Hair:
Martin LaPointe (La Bolduc)

Best Documentary:
Innu Nikamu : Chanter la résistance (Ian Boyd – Producer)

Best Cinematography – Documentary:
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr (A Sister’s Song)

Best Editing – Documentary:
René Roberge (Pauline Julien, intime et politique)

Best Sound – Documentary:
Cyril Bourseaux, Mélanie Gauthier, Simon Léveillé, Simon Plouffe, Lynne Trépanier, Jean Paul Vialard, Shikuan Shetush Vollant (Ceux qui viendront, l’entendront)

Best Short Film – Fiction:
Brotherhood (Meryam Joobeur, Annick Blanc, Maria Gracia Turgeon, Habib Attia, Sarra Ben Hassen – Producers)

Best Short Film – Animation:
Le sujet (Julie Roy – Producer, Office national du film du Canada)

Prix du Public – “People’s Choice”:
1991 (Nicole Robert, Producer)

Best Performing Film Outside of Québec:
La chute de l’empire Américain (Denise Robert, Producer)

Northernstars logo imageRalph Lucas is the founder and publisher of Northernstars.ca. He began writing about film and reviewing movies while in radio in Montreal in the mid-1970s.