Home Cast Members Sam De Grasse

Sam De Grasse


B: June 12, 1875 in Bathurst, New Brunswick
D: November 29, 1953 in Hollywood, California

Now all but forgotten, Sam De Grasse appeared in many of the most important early films. He was in the great and controversial Birth of a Nation from pioneering director D.W. Griffith, playing the role of Senator Sumner. De Grasse also had a featured role in Griffith’s 1916 masterpiece Intolerance. He played mostly secondary characters until Mary Pickford set up her own studio with her husband Douglas Fairbanks, and he joined them. Skillfully cast as a shifty-eyed villain, De Grasse began to specialize in the role of the “bad guy.” When Douglas Fairbanks made the first “big scale” version of Robin Hood in 1922, Sam De Grasse was cast, some might say type-cast, as Prince John.

Features & TV Movies:
VR indicates Direct-to-Video Release

Texas Bill’s Last Ride (1914)
The Stolen Radium (1914)
The Peach Brand (1914)
The Burden (1914)
The Gunman (1914)
On the Border (1914)
The Bank Burglar’s Fate (1914)
Through the Dark (1914)
Turned Back (1914)
Broken Nose Bailey (1914)
Runaway Freight (1914)
The Tardy Cannon Ball (1914)
A Woman Scorned (1914)
The Kaffir’s Skull (1914)
Who Shot Bud Walton (1914)
The Beat of the Year (1914)
The Birth of a Nation (1915)
A Man and His Mate (1915)
A Child of God (1915)
Martyrs of the Alamo (1915)
Cross Currents (1916)
Acquitted (1916)
The Price of Power (1916)
The Good Bad Man (1916)
An Innocent Magdalene (1916)
The Half Breed (1916)
Intolerance (1916)
Diane of the Follies (1916)
Children of the Feud (1916)
Jim Bludso (1917)
The Scarlet Car (1917)
Her Official Fathers (1917)
An Old Fashioned Young Man (1917)
Madame Bo-Peep (1917)
Anything Once (1917)
Wild and Woolly (1917)
The Empty Gun (1917)
Brace Up (1918)
The Guilt of Silence (1918)
The Mortgaged Wife (1918)
A Law Unto Herself (1918)
The Narrow Path (1918)
The Hope Chest (1919)
Sis (1919)
The Silk-Lined Burglar (1919)
The Exquisite Thief (1919)
The Mother and the Law (1919)
Blind Husbands (1919)
Heart o’ the Hills (1919)

The Devil’s Passkey (1920)
The Little Grey Mouse (1920)
Unseen Forces (1920)
Uncharted Channels (1920)
Moon Madness (1920)
The Broken Gate (1920)
The Cheater Reformed (1920)
A Wife’s Awakening (1921)
Courage (1921)
Robin Hood (1922)
Forsaking All Others (1922)
Slippy McGee (1923)
Circus Days (1923)
The Spoilers (1923)
A Prince of a King (1923)
In the Palace of the King (1923)
The Dancer of the Nile (1923)
Tiger Rose (1923)
The Courtship of Myles Standish (1923)
A Self-Made Failure (1924)
The Virgin (1924)
Painted People (1924)
Pagan Passions (1924)
On the Threshold (1925)
The Mansion of Aching Hearts (1925)
Heir-Loons (1925)
Sun-Up (1925)
Sally, Irene and Mary (1925)
One Year to Live (1925)
The Black Pirate (1926)
Her Second Chance (1926)
Broken Hearts of Hollywood (1926)
The Eagle of the Sea (1926)
Mike (1926)
Love’s Blindness (1926)
When a Man Loves (1927)
The King of Kings (1927)
Captain Salvation (1927)
The Country Doctor (1927)
The Fighting Eagle (1927)
The Wreck of the Hesperus (1927)
Dog Law (1928)
Our Dancing Daughters (1928)
The Farmer’s Daughter (1928)
The Racket (1928)
The Man Who Laughs (1928)
Honor Bound (1928)
Silks and Saddles (1929)
The Last Performance (1929)
Wall Street (1929)

Captain of the Guard (1930)