Home News Telefilm Backs 10

Telefilm Backs 10

filmmaking, image,
Image licensed from Shutterstock.

Telefilm Backs 10
by Staff

(August 14, 2020 – Toronto, ON) Telefilm Canada has announced support for 10 Indigenous feature films with an annual $4 million dedicated to funding Indigenous creators through their Indigenous Stream. The selection presents an array of genres from drama to thriller, science-fiction and documentary, with three of these films directed by women and three directed or co-directed by those who self-identify as gender-diverse.

Now in its fourth year, Telefilm has received more than double the number of applications through the Indigenous Stream compared to its inaugural year. All submissions are evaluated by an external all-Indigenous jury.

“We are pleased to see a steady growth of Indigenous applications through this Indigenous Stream and we welcome more Indigenous creators to apply, not only to this dedicated stream, but to all our programs,” said Christa Dickenson, Executive Director, Telefilm Canada. “As Telefilm continues to evolve, our priority of working through the lens of greater inclusivity remains the jury.”

As an extension of Telefilm’s commitment to greater transparency, and facilitating access, an Indigenous Initiatives webpage has been created to provide information to help directors, writers and producers from Indigenous communities apply to the various funding programs available Telefilm.

“We are committed to increasing the representation of Indigenous creators within Telefilm’s portfolio with the involvement of the Indigenous Working Group, an Indigenous jury and our Lead, Indigenous Initiatives, Adam Garnet Jones,” added Christa Dickenson. “We all benefit with the amplification of Indigenous voices and their storytelling.”

The Selected Projects are:

Directors: Ryan Cooper and Noam Gonick
Writers: Joy Keeper, Noam Gonick, Pearl and Onalee Ames
Producers: Tina Keeper and Juliette Hagopian
Province: Manitoba

Director/Writer: Alexander Lasheras
Producers: Arun Fryer and Nicolas Ayerbe-Barona
Province: British Columbia

Don’t Look Down
Director/Writer: Kelvin Redvers
Producer: Mark Miller
Province: British Columbia

Don’t Say Its Name
Director: Reuben Martell
Writers: Reuben Martell and Gerald Wexler
Producers: Renee Collins and Carolyn McMaster
Province: Alberta

Finality of Dusk
Director: Madison Thomas
Writers: Madison Thomas and Katarina Ziervogel
Producers: Lisa Meeches, Darcy Waite, Kyle Irving and Rebecca Gibson
Province: Manitoba

Director/Writer: Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
Producer: Lori Lozinski
Province: British Columbia

Directors/Writers: Sean Stiller and Rémy Huberdeau
Producers: Lisa Jackson, Lauren Grant and Rémy Huberdeau
Province: Ontario

Under the Talent to Watch Program:

Alter Boys
Director and writer: Jonathan Lawrence
Producer: Ryan Cooper
Partner: On Screen Manitoba
Province: Manitoba

Director and writer: Mary Galloway
Producer: Jessie Anthony
Partner: Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television – Canadian Academy Directors Program for Women
Province: British Columbia

The Green Waterways
Director and writer: Kennlin Barlow
Producer: Corrina Merasty
Partner: New Brunswick Filmmakers Co-operative Limited
Province: New Brunswick

SOURCE: Telefilm Canada