Home 2010s 2010 Movies The Bang Bang Club (2010)

The Bang Bang Club (2010)

The Bang Bang Club (2010)

;The Bang Bang Club, still; The Bang Bang Club was the name given to four young photographers: Greg Marinovich (Ryan Phillippe), Kevin Carter (Taylor Kitsch), Ken Oosterbroek (Frank Rautenbach) and Joao Silva (Neels Van Jaarsveld), whose photographs captured the final bloody days of white rule in South Africa. The film tells the remarkable and sometimes harrowing story of these young men – and the extraordinary extremes they went to in order to capture their pictures. Robin (Malin Akerman) is their photo-editor, who looked out for them, protected them and made sure their photographs were seen across the world. Based on the book by Marinovich and Silva, The Bang Bang Club tells the true story of these four young men, recounting their relationships with each other and the stresses, tensions and moral dilemmas of working in situations of extreme violence, pain and suffering. It is also the story of the final demise of apartheid and the birth of a new South Africa.

109 minutes – Drama
Release date: May 6, 2011
Canadian Distributor: eOne Films

;The Bang Bang Club, movie poster;

Executive Producers:



Ryan Phillippe
Taylor Kitsch
Frank Rautenbach
Joao Silva
Malin Akerman
Patrick Lyster
Russel Savadier

Kweku Mandela Amuah
Laslo Barna
Steven Silver
Neil Tabatznik
Patrice Theroux
Lance Samuels
Daniel Iron
Adam Friedlander
Steven Silver
Steven Silver
Miroslaw Baszak
Ron Sanders
Philip Miller

Greg Marinovich
Kevin Carter
Ken Oosterbroek
Neels Van Jaarsveld
Robin Comley
James Natchwey
Ronald Graham