Home Canadian Screen Awards – 2013

Canadian Screen Awards – 2013

Canadian Screen Award
Canadian Screen Award
Welcome to our Canadian Film Award Archive. This page contains information about the Canadian Screen Awards, which had their inaugural year in 2013, celebrating Canadian film and television projects completed in 2012. We also have pages detailing the original Canadian Film Awards, the Genie Awards and Les Prix Jutra.

The Canadian Screen Awards – A Brief History:

The Canadian Screen Awards were held on March 3, 2013. These new awards were created following a decision by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television to merge its formerly separate Genie Awards (for film) and Gemini Awards (for television) into a single ceremony. The Canadian Screen Awards also include awards for achievements in digital media. The inaugural awards ceremony was hosted by Martin Short. The Canadian Screen Awards are listed according to the year they were presented. The entries for best television categories have been edited for space.

2013 – Awards for Film:

Best Picture: Rebelle (War Witch) (Pierre Even, Marie-Claude Poulin, Kim Nguyen, producers)
Best Director: Kim Nguyen, Rebelle (War Witch)
Best Actor: James Cromwell, Still Mine
Best Actress: Rachel Mwanza, Rebelle (War Witch)
Best Supporting Actor: Serge Kanyinda, Rebelle (War Witch)
Best Supporting Actress: Seema Biswas, Midnight’s Children
Best Original Screenplay: Kim Nguyen, Rebelle (War Witch)
Best Adapted Screenplay: Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children
Best Feature Length Documentary: Stories We Tell Sarah Polley, Anita Lee, producers)
Best Short Documentary: The Boxing Girls of Kabul (Annette Clarke and Ariel Nasr, producers)
Best Live Action Short: Throat Song (Miranda de Pencier and Stacey Aglok MacDonald, producers)
Best Animated Short: Paula (Julie Roy and Dominic Étienne Simard, producers)
Art Direction/Production Design: Emmanuel Fréchette and Josée Arsenault, Rebelle (War Witch)
Cinematography: Nicolas Bolduc, Rebelle (War Witch)
Costume Design: Xavier Dolan and François Barbeau,Laurence Anyways
Editing: Richard Comeau, Rebelle (War Witch)
Overall Sound: Claude La Haye, Daniel Bisson and Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Rebelle (War Witch)
Sound Editing: Martin Pinsonnault, Jean-François Sauvé, Simon Meilleur and Claire Pochon, Rebelle (War Witch)
Achievement in Music: Original Score: Howard Shore, Cosmopolis
Achievement in Music: Original Song: Emily Haines, James Shaw and Howard Shore, "Long to Live"
Achievement in Make-up: Colleen Quinton and Kathy Kelso, Laurence Anyways
Achievement in Visual Effects: Dennis Berardi, Jason Edwardh, Matt Glover, Trey Harrell, Leann Harvey, Jo Hughes, Ethan Lee, Scott Riopelle, Eric Robinson and Kyle Yoneda, Resident Evil: Retribution

2013 – Awards for Television:

Drama Series: Flashpoint
Comedy Series: Less Than Kind
Animated Program or Series: Producing Parker
Documentary Program or Series: The Nature of Things
Children’s or Youth Fiction: Degrassi
Children’s or Youth non-fiction: Artzooka!
Dramatic Mini-Series or TV Movie: Magic Beyond Words
History or Biography Documentary Program or Series: D-Day to Victory
International Drama: The Borgias
Lifestyle Program or Series: Income Property
Music, Variety, Sketch Comedy or Talk Program or Series: Rick Mercer Report
Performing Arts or Arts Documentary Program or Series: Love Shines
Pre-School Program or Series: Stella & Sam
Reality/Competition Program or Series: Dragons’ Den
Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series: Polar Bears: A Summer Odyssey
Social/Political Documentary Program (Donald Brittain Award): About Her
Lead actor, drama: Enrico Colantoni, Flashpoint
Lead actress, drama: Meg Tilly, Bomb Girls
Lead actor, comedy: Gerry Dee, Mr. D
Lead actress, comedy: Wendel Meldrum, Less Than Kind
Lead actor, television film or miniseries: Shawn Doyle, John A.: Birth of a Country
Lead actress, television film or miniseries: Emily Osment, Cyberbully
Supporting actor, drama: Peter Outerbridge, John A.: Birth of a Country
Supporting actress, drama: Wendy Crewson, Saving Hope
Supporting actor, comedy: Stuart Margolin, Call Me Fitz
Supporting actress, comedy: Joanna Cassidy, Call Me Fitz
Actor, performing arts or miniseries (individual or ensemble): Christopher Plummer, The Tempest

2013 – Awards for Digital Media:

Original Program or Series, Fiction: Guidestones (iThentic, 3 o’clock.tv): Jonas Diamond, Lisa Baylin, Jeremy

Cross-Platform Project, Fiction: The Drunk and On Drugs Happy Fun Time Hour (Happy Funtime Productions 2007): Paul Pope, Colin Busby, Victoria Ha, Dana Herlihey, Evan Jones, Stephen MacLeod

Original Program or Series, Non-Fiction: One Millionth Tower (National Film Board of Canada): Katerina Cizek, Sarah Arruda, Silva Basmajian, Gerry Flahive

Cross-Platform Project, Non-Fiction: Truth & Lies: The Last Days of Osama bin Laden (CBC News, the fifth estate, Sean Embury, Fulscrn Digital Media Communications): Rachel Nixon, Marie Caloz, Marissa Nelson, Robert Sheppard, Jim Williamson

Cross-Platform Project, Children’s: My Babysitter’s a Vampire: Humans vs. Vampires (Secret Location, Fresh TV): James Milward, Ryan Andal, Pietro Gagliano, Sabrina Saccoccio

Click here for a list of the winners at the 2014 Canadian Screen Awards.