Home Directors Tim Southam

Tim Southam


B: October 1, 1961

Tim Southam’s many films include the critically acclaimed dramas The Bay of Love and Sorrows, The Tale of Teeka/ L’Histoire de l’oie, and One Dead Indian; as well as the celebrated documentaries Drowning in Dreams, Satie and Suzanne and Perreault Dancer. Southam’s work as a TV series director includes jPod, The Dead Zone, ‘da Kink in my Hair, Moose TV, Naked Josh, Trudeau II: Maverick in the Making, and Blue Murder, and as writer on North of 60 and Traders. His work has won awards at many international festivals, multiple Gemini and Gémeaux awards, including three for best direction, and nominations for the Genie, Grammy, Jutra and DGC awards. He was elected as the national president of the Directors Guild of Canada in 2014 and re-elected in April of 2016. Before becoming a filmmaker Southam studied economics, philosophy and literature at the University of Toronto and received a master’s degree in political economy from the London School of Economics.

Official website.

Features & TV Movies:
VR indicates Direct-to-Video Release

What She Wrote (1990)
Modulations de fréquence (1992)
Dober Man (1992)
Satie and Suzanne (1994)
Drowning in Dreams (1997)
The Tale of Teeka/ L’Histoire de l’oie (TV-1998)

Island of the Dead (2000)
The Bay of Love and Sorrows (2002)
Inner Voices (TV-2003)
A Spy’s Life: Kitty Harris (2004)
Danser Perreault (2005)
One Dead Indian (TV-2005)
Brian Macdonald, Virtuoso Eclectic (2008, short)

Love Letters (TV-2010)
Stay With Me (TV-2011)
Brent Carver: Home Through the Night (2014, documentary, short)

TV Series (at least 1 episode):
Blue Murder (2001)
Trudeau II: Maverick in the Making (2005, mini-series)
Naked Josh (2005)
The Dead Zone (2007)
Moose TV (2007)
da Kink in My Hair (2007, 2009)
jPod (2008)
Heartland (2008)
Flashpoint (2009)
Triple Sensation: Inspiration & Performance (2009)
Bones (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014)

Unnatural History (2010)
Haven (2010, 2011)
House (2011, 2012)
Rookie Blue (2012)
Cracked (2013)
Bates Motel (2015, 2016)
Colony (2016, 2017, 2018)
Hell on Wheels (2016)
Animal Kingdom (2016)
Hap and Leonard (2017)
Lost in Space (2018, 2019)
NOS4A2 (2019)
Locke & Key (2019)

American Gods (2021)
Debris (2021)
The Good Doctor (2021)

;The Bay of Love and Sorrows;